What is health? (and what this blog is not)

Hey world. Hi World. How are we today? Are we all feeling mindful? I’m using therapy speak rn. Maybe you’re not. Maybe that’s how you’ve stumbled across this blog. Maybe you’re actually super tired, burnt out, toomuchtodonotenoughtimetodoitreadytoquityourjobandmovetoanisland kinda state-o’-mind. I’m here to tell you a little about what this blog isn’t so that you don’t waste too much time poking around if you needn’t. Since I know you’re already short on time. This is not a blog about the latest weight loss craze. This is not a blog that is going to perpetually focus on how to get the “bigger booty” you’ve been hoping for or how to “train that waist” until your internal organs move into your limbs. There will be no Kendall Jenner lip challenge photos floating around. NO. We’re done with that. It’s run it’s course. It was fun. Or entertaining. Or something.

I’m here to talk about YOU.

And me, a little.

Who are you? Who do you want to be? What’s inside your soul? What makes you feel HAPPY and FULL OF LIFE!?

If there’s one thing I’ve learned as a therapist it’s that happiness and health work in kind of an all encompassing circle. If you aren’t happy, you usually aren’t healthy. And if you aren’t healthy, you probably have a hard time feeling super happy.

That’s what this blog is about. It’s about learning more about ourselves through an open dialogue about health and what health means to us. The title of this blog contains the word “whole” (overused as it may be at the moment) because for me, that word suggests a binding of parts to create something larger. As humans, the dynamic creatures that we are, we operate on many different spectrums. One moment we’re running from our emotional mind. The next we are all physical and energy and chemical, and our behavior is being driven from there. And each one of those arenas can be broken down yet again. For example, when I am in my emotional mind, sometimes I’m feeling anxious or sad and that’s dictating my behavior. Sometimes though I am able to feel centered, mindful, or spiritual, and this helps me to better regulate my behavior despite having strong underlying emotions. When we are operating from certain states, it’s easy for our actions to be dictated with seemingly little choice in the matter. Being in a state of health and true wellness means we are better in control of our actions and are able to make healthier decisions no matter what “arena” we are operating from. To me, this means our minds are full of positivity, our bodies are functioning in a way that allows us to do what we need to do to live, and our spirits are filled with happiness.

My hope for this blog is that it becomes collaborative and that we work together to create a collection of inspiration that helps us to become more healthy and whole. I will cover topics that I think contribute to that primary goal, and I welcome suggestions for such topics from readers. I have spent many years combing the earth for this type of information, and am thrilled to share what I’ve come across and learned in my work as a therapist.

Thanks for reading today. Question:

What does health mean to you?

2 thoughts on “What is health? (and what this blog is not)

  1. Hi there!!! This blog sounds like an excellent idea! Sort of like an online therapist 😛 I couldn’t even give you fully confident answers to your “who are you, what do you want” questions! But I enjoy every moment of my self-discovery journey! AOTD: Health is when both your mind and body are in equilibrium, with respect to everyone’s own definition of what equilibrium means to them… I don’t think I truly understand what the word ‘health’ means, but I’d love to find out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

